A blog should have a purpose

So, since today is the first day of a new adventure, we’re going to make this blogs purpose, for now anyway, journaling a change in lifestyle to eating fresh fruits, veggies and juices.

Why? I’ve always loved food. Eating has never really been a problem for me. I usually eat what I want, and besides a little fluctuation in weight over the seasons, it’s not a problem. I know my diet isn’t great, but we eat pretty balanced meals for dinner and I have a salad for lunch a couple times a week. Sure we eat burgers and wings and fries, but we also each a lot of chicken and veggies.

Then last week we were sitting on the couch after putting the kids down to bed. Tiff was doing some work on a website so I was looking for something to watch on Netflix that I didn’t think she’d need to pay that much attention to. I landed on “Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead.”

It’s a documentary by and Australia named Joe Cross who decided to try living off juice for 60 days in an effort to change his life and cure a chronic illness he had. Long story short, it works and we all learn together how great juice is an how awful the average American diet is for you. After watching it Tiff asked if I wanted to give juicing a try. I kind of laughed, but said it sounded like it might be a good idea.

The next night we watched “Forks Over Knives” and we were convinced we need to start eating better. “Forks Over Knives” is less about juicing and more about how the average western diet is responsible for most of the chronic diseases that are afflicting people these days. 71uiqsqitdl-_sy679_

Tiff bought a Breville JE98XL Juice Fountain Plus 850-Watt Juice Extractor the next day on Amazon as well joe’s his recipe book. Tiff also grabbed Joe’s other book from the library. She’s a doer.

Joe’s movie was based on just drinking veggie based juice, but once he developed out his plan with a nutritionist for the book, they added in some solid, fresh and cooked foods (all veggies). We were going to start on Saturday, but the kids were going to my mom’s house for the weekend so we decided to start a day early on Friday. We’re loosely following a 15 day reboot plan. Every day looks something like this.

  1. Hot Lemon Ginger Water when you first wake up
  2. Smoothie for breakfast
  3. Juice for snack
  4. Salad or Soup for lunch
  5. Juice for snack
  6. Salad, Soup or cooked  Veggies for dinner
  7. Herbal tea before bed.

Sounds simple enough. I’m writing this post at the end of day three and so far it’s been…..alright. I’ve had a headache everyday, which is normal. You’re body is adjusting to no fat, sugar, salt, caffeine, gluten, wheats, corns, or processing junk. Joe says the worse the headache the more you need a reboot. So I guess I need this.  I went to bed at 9PM the first night due to the headache. And the second night, after a nice roasted veggie dinner, I threw up and went to bed at 8PM with a headache. Puking is not normal on this diet, but I think I just ate too much too fast. Other then the headache and the sudden vomiting last night, I feel fine.

Today I took an Excedrin to try to get rid of the headache and it worked. I know Excedrin has Caffeine in it, but I think I can ween off it in the next couple days and not have the killer headache from everything else. Today I had lots of energy and did some work in the yard. I feel good now that I kicked the headache and I’m excited for the next couple weeks.

Tomorrow I’ll talk a little more about how the juices have been.

Thanks for reading.

 

 

2 thoughts on “A blog should have a purpose

    1. davidgjames says:

      Yes. I’ll do the best I can. I started around 208 according to my home scale. It was more like 217 last time I checked at the gym a little over a week ago. I’ll have to check my BMI since I haven’t in a while.

      Like

Leave a Reply

