Six Days and Still Alive

I’ve never gone this long without eating meat, or refined sugar, or coffee. But here I am.

The first 5 days we did the 3 juices a day with a salad for lunch and some kind of roasted veggie for dinner. Day 5 (yesterday) we started a juice only diet. 5 juices a day. The juices can be any combination of different juices, but that’s it. Juice, water, tea and coconut water. I find I need to have a juice every 2 hours or I start to get a headache. I’m not really hungry but I do feel the craving for food. The idea is to drink different types of juice to give you body a good variety of nutrients.

The juices have been good for the most part. The juices that have celery have been pretty grassy. I think that might be due to ripeness. The one juice we’ve made with beets was very earthy. It wasn’t bad, just strong. Otherwise we’ve juiced sweet potatoes, yams, beets, cabbage, celery, pineapples, carrots, apples, pears, lemons, limes, kale, spinach, lettuce, herbs, tomatoes and most of the recipes have been alright. Sweet potatoes are really good juices, who would have thunk it.

I feel good. I have good energy and like I said, I haven’t been hungry. I’ve been waking up around 5:30 most morning when I usually wake up at 7, and I haven’t been able to fall back asleep. That has caused me to be a bit tired in the morning, but after my first juice I feel fine. I have lost a little weight. I’m not tracking it that closely, but I would say a couple pounds. I’ll try to track it better. That could be because there’s no food in my system and not necessarily fat or muscle I’ve lost but who knows.

The more we’ve done this the easier it is getting, but it’s still a fair bit of work each night planning the juices for the next day and making them. At this point we plan to do straight juice for 5 days (3 more), then phase back in vegetables. There are 3 pounds of chicken wings in my chest freezer that I will be eating someday, but I really do think after this, my diet is going to be drastically different.

-D

Leave a Reply

